National Bank of Canada Announces Results of Conversion Rights of Non-Cumulative 5-Year Rate Reset First Preferred Shares, Series 30

Montreal, May 2, 2019

National Bank of Canada (the “Bank”) (TSX: NA) announced today that none of its outstanding 14,000,000 Non-Cumulative 5-Year Rate Reset First Preferred Shares, Series 30 (the “Series 30 Preferred Shares”) will be converted on May 15, 2019 into Non-Cumulative Floating Rate First Preferred Shares, Series 31 (the “Series 31 Preferred Shares”).

During the conversion period, 344,653 Series 30 Preferred Shares were tendered for conversion into Series 31 Preferred Shares, which is less than the minimum 1,000,000 required to give effect to the conversion, as per the terms of the Series 30 Preferred Shares described in the prospectus supplement dated January 31, 2014.

As a result, no Series 31 Preferred Shares will be issued on May 15, 2019 and holders of Series 30 Preferred Shared will retain their shares.

The Series 30 Preferred Shares are currently listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange under the symbol NA.PR.S. The annual dividend rate for such shares for the five-year period commencing on May 16, 2019, and ending on May 15, 2024, will be 4.025%.

About National Bank of Canada
With $263 billion in assets as at January 31, 2019, National Bank of Canada, together with its subsidiaries, forms one of Canada's leading integrated financial groups. It has more than 23,000 employees in knowledge-intensive positions and has been recognized numerous times as a top employer and for its commitment to diversity. Its securities are listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange (TSX: NA). Follow the Bank's activities at or via social media such as FacebookLinkedIn and Twitter.

For more information:

Linda Boulanger
Vice-President, Investor Relations
National Bank of Canada
Claude Breton
Vice-President, Public Affairs and Corporate Social Responsibility
National Bank of Canada