Bank holiday calendar

Here is the list of holidays when the bank is closed. To see the business hours of the regular calendar, please see the Contact page.

 

2022

2022 Details Where celebrated
Monday, January 3 New Year's Day National holiday
Tuesday, January 4 Day after New Year’s Quebec only
Monday, February 21 Family Day / Louis Riel Day Manitoba, P.E.I. Alberta, Ontario, Saskatchewan, N.S. B.C.
Friday, April 15 Good Friday (Easter) National holiday
Monday, May 23 Victoria Day National holiday
Friday, June 24 St-Jean Baptiste Day Quebec only
Friday, July 1 Canada Day National holiday
Monday, August 1 Civic Day Except Quebec and P.-E.-I.
Monday, September 5 Labour Day National holiday
Friday, September 30 National Day for Truth and Reconciliation National holiday
Monday, October 10 Thanksgiving Day National holiday
Friday, November 11 Remembrance Day National holiday
Monday, December 26 Christmas Day National holiday
Tuesday, December 27 Boxing Day National holiday

2021

2021 Details Where celebrated
Friday, January 1 New Year's Day National holiday
Monday, January 4 Day after New Year’s Quebec only
Monday, February 15 Family Day / Louis Riel Day Manitoba, P.E.I. Alberta, Ontario, Saskatchewan, N.S. B.C.
Friday, April 2 Good Friday (Easter) National holiday
Monday, May 24 Victoria Day National holiday
Thursday, June 24 St-Jean Baptiste Day Quebec only
Thursday, July 1 Canada Day National holiday
Monday, August 2 Civic Day Except Quebec and P.-E.-I.
Monday, September 6 Labour Day National holiday
Thursday, September 30 National Day for Truth and Reconciliation National holiday
Monday, October 11 Thanksgiving Day National holiday
Thursday, November 11 Remembrance Day National holiday
Monday, December 27 Christmas Day National holiday
Tuesday, December 28 Boxing Day National holiday

2020

2020 Details Where celebrated
Wednesday, January 1 New Year's Day National holiday
Thursday, January 2 Day after New Year’s Quebec only
Monday, February 17 Family Day / Louis Riel Day Manitoba, P.E.I. Alberta, Ontario, Saskatchewan, N.S. B.C.
Friday, April 10 Good Friday (Easter) National holiday
Monday, May 18 Victoria Day National holiday
Wednesday, June 24 St-Jean Baptiste Day Quebec only
Wednesday, July 1 Canada Day National holiday
Monday, August 3 Civic Day Except Quebec and P.-E.-I.
Monday, September 7 Labour Day National holiday
Monday, October 12 Thanksgiving Day National holiday
Wednesday, November 11 Remembrance Day National holiday
Friday, December 25 Christmas Day National holiday
Monday, December 28 Boxing Day National holiday

Statutory holidays: the impact on your transactions 

See how your transactions are processed when our branches and offices are closed.

 

 

Personal

Scheduled payments Payments scheduled on a statutory holiday will be processed the next business day. To avoid delays that could result in fees, we suggest that you advance the date of your scheduled payment.
Payroll deposits If your employer has followed the procedures detailed below for a statutory holiday, your pay will be deposited electronically as usual. Otherwise, your pay will be deposited on the next business day.

 

Business

Service provider payments (e.g., Hydro-Québec), and electronic payments They will be processed the next business day.
Payments from other billers They will be rejected.
Government remittances - Canada and Quebec They will be rejected.
Government remittances - Other provinces They will be processed the next business day.
Payments via a post office box They will be processed the next business day.
International payments (SWIFT) They will be processed the next business day.
Forward contacts/Foreign exchange and derivatives office Offices are closed; you will not be able to reserve a term contract or an exchange rate.
Payroll deposits
  • If the company sends the file the day before the holiday, the deposit can be made as usual. However, the transaction will be dated the following business day.
  • Nethris® will contact companies using its payroll services by email to remind them to prepare their payroll one business day in advance.
Mobile deposit and Scanner
Night deposits No pick-up is made for deposits made the night before the holiday. Pick-ups will resume the following business day.
Cash and foreign exchange orders You must place the order two business days before the holiday.
Cash and foreign exchange pick-ups Pick-ups are rescheduled for the business day before or after the holiday. The carrier will notify you of the change in date.
Loan transactions They will be processed the next business day.

Legal Notice

®Nethris is a registered trademark of CGI Payroll Services Centre Inc.